Home > the mommy thing > six months

six months

6 months ago today, I woke up. I got dressed, hopped the subway with the husband. Quickly strode past the idling strangers on the sidewalk with my city-quick pace. Walked into the brick building that faced the park. Sat down in a semi-comfy chair. And waited.

Usually when I wait, I get impatient. But 6 months ago, I don’t remember that. The husband was, oh yes, but that was to be expected. If I was, then it was to be expected as well, but I wasn’t. I just sat there, soaking the day in. The unexpectedly impatient one was you, little baby, who kicked around and decided to get things going. And so my belly started rippling as I sat there, as you told the world you were ready to meet it.

Others joined us waiting in the chairs, some to quickly go into other rooms, some to wait and stay. One lady was counting out loud as if she didn’t know she was, every 5 minutes… 4 minutes… and then to a room she went. I used her beat to figure out yours (oh impatient one, with ripples every minute. And still, I sat there patiently)

Finally it was our turn, your time. We left the chairs for a room. I changed. I waited some more.

They took some measurements and stared at me in surprise – “You’re having contractions! Every minute!”

Yes, I know. I have been all morning. She’s ready to say hello.

“But… But…”

I knew we could wait. You needed to be ready, too.

And soon enough, we all were ready.

And you greeted the world with your perfect cry, and we finally said hello face to face.

Categories: the mommy thing
  1. 2011/12/07 at 11:16 am

    Happy Half Birthday, Miss Meeka!!

    xox

  2. 2011/12/08 at 11:50 am

    Beautifully written! When I recap the day my daughter arrived, it isn’t quite so eloquent (and I think I mention poop).

  3. 2011/12/08 at 11:28 pm

    SIX MONTHS?! JEEZ, where has the time gone?!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

