Home > meeka's moods > Gaming the System

Gaming the System

Does this look like the face of an evil genius?

(And yes, that’s maniacal laughter caught on camera right there…)

Meeka is fast becoming one devious little minx, and needless to say, I am worried about our future. If she’s outsmarting us adults at 7 months old, what will this little genius be doing in the months or years to come?

It began a couple of weeks ago, when after the holidays and her illness, she returned to daycare for our regularly scheduled programming. And she didn’t like it, oh no she didn’t. What had been grand before was now unacceptable, since she’d become accustomed to more Mommy (and more Mommy’s boob), and she wanted that back.

But what to do?

Apparently, she’s figured out how to connect cause and consequence. As in, sick baby = call to mommy = get to go home. And so she developed a fake cough. And indeed, I got called. And indeed, I came to pick her up. At which point, she promptly stopped coughing. (I did get to hear the fake cough once, and confirmed with the daycare that while she’d been sick and coughing, this was NOT that cough)

Adults: 0, Meeka: 1

Plotting her next move

Of course, following that incident, the fake cough was ignored, forcing her to move on.

Which brings us to this week, after a long weekend where she was once again delighted with a bit more boob-time than usual. And so, Tuesday. She didn’t bring out the fake cough again, oh no. This time she just decided to do a full-on protest, to see where that would get her. Non-stop crying all day, and refusal to nap. And again, abnormal/sick behavior = multiple calls to mommy (the daycare is great, they were keeping me updated throughout the day) = mommy picks her up early. And yes, as soon as I arrived, she stopped crying. And as soon as we were home, she passed out on my lap for a nice long nap. And while I did look for any reason for this behavior – ear infection (one of the few times I have actually used my personal otoscope), teething, abnormal bowel movements, injury, etc – no reason could be found.

Adults: 0, Meeka: 2

Who, me? Meeka’s perfecting her look of innocence when caught

(It appears we have entered the territory of separation anxiety. I imagine it will prove an interesting one, as Meeka seems prepared to fight back with everything she has. And so far, she’s winning.)

And this picture is here just because I find it hysterical – that’s Meeks belly laughing while she and I play with an (empty) soda bottle… her new favorite toy

Categories: meeka's moods
  1. 2012/01/20 at 11:51 am

    OOOOHHHHHH, JUST WAIT. This is only the beginning. They are smart little buggers.

    Also, she is so insanely cute. I can’t stand it.

    • 2012/01/20 at 2:08 pm

      I know. I am scared for what the future holds. So very, very scared.

  2. 2012/01/23 at 8:41 am

    She is SO cute!

    I think my daughter has started this at night (and she’s nearly 1 year old!). She’s been crying in the middle of the night (not hysteria but that whining cry). Since it was so unusual at first, I was going in and hanging with her for awhile to get her to go back to sleep. But now we’re on night 4… and nothing is wrong with her. oy.

    Btw – I’m jealous that you know how to check for an ear infection! I wish I had that skill set – it would save me trips to the pediatrician.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

