Home > crafting it up > Shake, rattle, and roll!

Shake, rattle, and roll!

So, one of my goals for the year is to make at least one thing each month – that is, I wanna get my craft on. Now, in the coming months, I’m hoping this means breaking out the sewing machine and perhaps making some adorable baby clothes… But for this month, I went a bit simpler.

OK, make that a lot simpler.

OK, make that so easy a monkey could do it.

January’s craft? A rattle.

A simple, easy, 5-minute rattle.

Here’s how it went down…

“Ingredients” :

1. plastic tube with cap – I got this one from the lab I work in, it’s a container for disposable lab tools that we use every day (so, these containers get thrown away on a daily basis… I just rescued this one from it’s usual fate). And yes, it was thoroughly scrubbed before use in this craft.

2. dried beans

3. fun tape!

4. craft string/twine

 

Aaaaand… the crafting: place approximately 10 beans in container, then secure lid. Tape around container to decorate. Then wrap twine around tape and secure at ends (to help with baby gripping). The end!

(Crafting for dummies 101, no?)

What’s the verdict?

Meeka LOVES it! (Yes, this might be along the lines of babies loving wrapping paper and boxes more than actual toys, but hey, let’s go with it here…)

Crafting win!

Categories: crafting it up
  1. 2012/02/02 at 4:33 pm

    Love it. 🙂

    xox

  2. 2012/02/03 at 10:10 am

    Very crafty! I love it.

    We did something similar but much more ghetto. We put dried chickpeas in an old pill bottle (and I realize how awful that seems since it is showing that pill bottles are toys as I’m typing this…)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

