Home > books! > Reading (no writing nor arithmetic here!)

Reading (no writing nor arithmetic here!)

So, awhile ago (um, two weeks?!?! where does the time go!?!?) I wrote about how I did, indeed, record all the books I’d read all January… and that I’d write a post about it… but then I never did. But Heidikins post yesterday about the fabulous book sale she goes to every year (I am sooooooo jealous over here) reminded me to get on that. So, here it is. BOOKS. I like them.

Now, a lot of people like books (or say they do). A lot of people put “reading” in their “interests” when sketching little bios of themselves (Hi, I’m X, I like bubble baths and long walks on the beach. My hobbies are painting my nails and reading (because that makes me look smart). I’m looking for blahbitty blahbitty blah)

I don’t know what liking reading looks like to a lot of people. I don’t know what saying “I read a lot” means to them, or to you. I only know what it means to me. Because I like reading. And I read a lot. As in, daily. As in, I read 25 books in the month of January.

Yes, 25. TWENTY-FIVE.

(I knew I read a lot before starting this writing-them-down-thing, just hadn’t realized exactly how much)

I’m lucky that this is one interest of mine that having a baby actually enables… because nursing time = reading time. Pumping time = reading time. Getting up with baby in the middle of the night = potential reading time (though more often than not, it’s drowsing time). So I can read just as much now as I did before. Which is pretty awesome.

Because if you haven’t realized it yet, I love to read.

And looking at how much I *do* read, I also realized, perhaps I should, you know, try to do something with this love of mine? Maybe look into jobs where you, ya know, READ? Turns out, there are some jobs like that. Professional readers. WOW. Some lucky people out there have the job to just… read! They read manuscripts, etc, from the “slush piles” at publishers and then summarize and recommend (or not) for publishing. Now, how can I get this job?!?! (No, really, how? If any of you out there are publishers looking for a prolific reader who can also write decently – and is a grammar fiend – please let me know!)

But. You want to know WHAT I read, don’t you? Because anyone can read 25 childrens books of the “See Spot Run!” variety.

And here’s why I am always shy about talking about my reading habits… because while I do read actual BOOKS, I tend to gravitate towards, well… trash. OK, OK, not really. Not all of the time, or all of the books. But really? At the end of a long day? I want to shut my brain down, and for my reading to be like a warm, comforting blanket. And for me, that means I read a lot of fiction – often YA Fiction, or Fantasy, sometimes Sci Fi, sometimes trashy beach reads, and recently, realllllllly trashy historical romance novels (yeah. really. and THIS is why I don’t usually talk about reading with people in face-to-face conversations)

But, in the interest of brutal honesty – so y’all out there can see the REAL ME and all of that – I’m going to share with you what I read last month:

 

The Good (aka real literature / books that make you think / books to spark a conversation) :

Abraham by Bruce Feiler

The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan

Because I said So by various authors

 

The Bad (aka YA Fiction, for the most part):

Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

All the Weyrs of Pern by Anne McCaffrey

The Otherworldlies by Jennifer Anne Kogler

The Luckiest Girl by Beverly Cleary

Debris by Jo Anderton

Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa

Wild Magic by Tamora Pierce

Unleashed by Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguie

Wolf Speaker by Tamora Pierce

 

And The Ugly* (aka ROMANCE NOVELS, OMG!) :

Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas

A Christmas Promise by Mary Balogh

Again the Magic by Lisa Kleypas

Secrets of a Summer Night by Lisa Kleypas

Suddenly You by Lisa Kleypas

A Wallflower Christmas by Lisa Kleypas

Mine til Midnight by Lisa Kleypas

Somewhere I’ll Find You by Lisa Kleypas

Then Came You by Lisa Kleypas

Lady Sophia’s Lover by Lisa Kleypas

Someone to Watch Over Me by Lisa Kleypas

When Stranger’s Marry by Lisa Kleypas

Only With Your Love by Lisa Kleypas

 

* You’ll notice I was on a Lisa Kleypas kick this month… that often happens to me, I’ll go through a phase of reading one entire series/author/etc for a while, til I’m done with that and find a new one… Also, I should note that as these are pretty much brain candy books, none of them took me more than 2 days to read (and that was if I started one at night, and then finished the next day) – most were “consumed” in a day, the perfect little morsels of guilty pleasure

Categories: books!
  1. 2012/02/15 at 12:17 pm

    I loved The Omnivore’s Dilemma, it is one of the books that changed the way I think and I recommend it to anyone who has or is trying to have an opinion on food, organics, etc. LOVE it.

    xox

  2. 2012/02/17 at 11:15 am

    I haven’t read The Omnivore’s Dilemma but I read another Michael Pollan book that was great, “In Defense of Food”.

    And holy hell – you read a lot! I haven’t read a single book since having a baby and I miss it terribly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

