firsts

A new baby has many firsts – first tooth, first step, first… everything.

A new mother has many firsts as well … Some good (first time back into your pre-pregnancy pants!) and some less so (first time you realize that, yes, your hair really does fall out!)

A few days ago, I hit another first …

/PAUSE

***WARNING: girly talk ahead !!! ***

/UNPAUSE

First period following childbirth.

UGH.

In the 18-ish months since the last, I’d managed to forget how much I HATE this mother-effing part of womanhood.

(In case you couldn’t tell, menstruation and I do not get on well. Sure, there is the bloating and wacky emotions. But it’s the C-R-A-M-P-S that I find nearly intolerable…)

I know I’m lucky that breastfeeding has managed to put off this return to woman-body-normalcy for so long (and yes, I *am* still breastfeeding…) – I know there are those out there who breastfed and STILL got their period only weeks after giving birth… But still. I am mourning this first. I could have easily been happy for it to hold off a little while longer…

How about all of you? What firsts after child(ren) did you (do you) wish you could have held off on?

  1. jesser
    2012/04/09 at 2:51 pm

    1 word: Mirena. Haven’t had a period in a looooong while. Years. I do not look forward to returning to the sisterhood. Like at all. πŸ˜‰

    • 2012/04/10 at 8:46 am

      Something to look forward to in the future, when I’m (we’re) thinking we’re done with the kiddos… But for now, I think I’m gonna just suffer through it… (With plenty of moaning and complaining to make sure others are suffering along with me ;))

  2. 2012/04/09 at 4:32 pm

    I really hate periods. I’m jealous you had 18 months without. Sigh. #1stworldproblems

    xox

    • 2012/04/10 at 8:44 am

      haha, indeed, such a first world problem… and yet, that won’t stop me complaining about this one πŸ˜‰

  3. 2012/04/09 at 7:18 pm

    Ughhhh. I hated that too! I went 22 months without one…it was glorious. And I’m STILL breastfeeding too, people love to emphasize the STILL STILL STILL when they ask. πŸ™‚

    Slight warning…after mine came back I started to notice all the thinness I felt breastfeeding had helped me achieve kind of softened up a little. Grrrr.

    • 2012/04/10 at 8:45 am

      Thanks for the warning – because I have totally been on the “breastfeeding weight-loss plan” … Time to get back to an *actual* work-out routine! πŸ˜‰

  4. charmcitykim
    2012/04/11 at 8:23 am

    I love this post because I JUST got my first period post-baby last month. So I went 21 months period free and it was glorious.

    When my period came, it was like I had just gotten for the first time ever. I kept forgetting to change my tampon (sorry, TMI) or forgot to pack any backups. I was a hot mess that first time.

    And as the previous commenter mentioned, I’ve noticed my weight has been ticking up a bit lately. I need to work out harder! (and I’m still breastfeeding although I’m only down to 1 night time sessino)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

